Calliope Ice Cream at Weary Traveler

This past weekend J and I finally had a chance to try the new Calliope ice cream being served at Weary Traveler on Madison’s east side. I first learned about it from Stephanie Bedford’s nice story at madison.com a couple weeks ago.

Last Friday, Weary posted this pic on Facebook listing the currently featured flavors. As you can see in J’s pic at left, by Sunday night a couple flavors had disappeared but another one had been squeezed in at the bottom. After our delicious dinner (Walleye sandwich for J, bowl of vegan chili for me with half as leftovers for lunch the next day), I let J choose our flavor. He picked Peanut Butter Bacon. Seriously, how could you could wrong with that one? We were not disappointed.

As you can see in the photo below, the ice cream is served without much muss or fuss, though the cup of hot water for the spoons was a nice touch (even if we didn’t find the hot water necessary). As Bedford describes the presentation, “The ice cream is served by the pint ($5 each) and brought to your table in the container, as if to say, ‘Let’s not lie to each other. This is how you would eat it at home, possibly in front of a marathon of “Ally McBeal” reruns.’ A pint easily serves two.” I can’t argue with that, though I’d suggest that it might also easily serve three or four. After our filling meal, J and I ended up only eating half the pint at the restaurant and took the rest home for later … which was just fine by us! I definitely recommend leaving some room for dessert the next time you’re at the Weary.

P.S. For more on Calliope, its mastermind Jason Borgmann, and his expansion plans, check out this great piece from Kyle Nabilcy at Isthmus.

Delicious bits of bacon generously sprinkled throughout a rich peanut butter ice cream. Locavores and carnivores alike will delight in this one!

One comment

  1. zazzman

    Who the hell is Ally McBeal? ;-) In all seriousness, the ice cream was the best I’ve had in a while. I like the peanut butter bacon, but I don’t think I would order that particular flavor again. I think I may have liked it better with chocolate instead of peanut butter.

Share your thoughts!

