Hello, Yellow Doll!

Photo by The Conscientious Omnivore (CC BY-NC-ND 3.0)

My recent post about where seedless watermelons come from prompted me to seek out an old school, fully seeded alternative.

Happily, Madison-area farmers have satisfied my hankering with a crop of Yellow Doll watermelons. (Thank you, Tipi Produce!)

Yellow Doll is a variety that has a short growing season and yields sweet, juicy fruit. Mmmmm … so good.

The modest size of these “ice box” melons means that our household of two has no trouble getting the whole thing eaten in a short time.

Like my mom used to do, I cut the melon into big chunks and then slice away or pick out the seeds for easy eating.

If you see them at the farmers’ market or grocery store, I encourage you to give them a try! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Share your thoughts!

