Trader Joe’s week, day 4: Beets

I wasn’t exposed to beets until I was an adult, and it turns out that I really like them. I don’t blame my mom for not putting them on the dinner table when I was a kid; if you think they’re gross, why would you serve them? Unfortunately, beets can be messy and staining to cook. I’ve tried store-bought beets in a can, but they really don’t compare to the “real” thing, so I’m always grateful when we get a pint or two of home-canned garden beets from J’s family.

Thankfully, Trader Joe’s comes to the rescue with their steamed baby beets. After I open the package, I like to slice off the little nub where the greens used to be that the machine peelers always seem to miss; halve or quarter the beets, depending on their size; and then sprinkle a little balsamic vinegar on them. They make a really great side dish for lunch. And the ingredient list is one item long: beets! What’s not to like? (Well, the beets, if you’re like my mom.)

Share your thoughts!

