Sunday cooking: The 10/16/2011 edition

Risotto with Butternut Squash, Leeks, and Basil

J’s family was visiting from out of town this weekend, so today was a light cooking day, with just two things prepared for the week ahead.

J and I both really liked the granola that I made last week, so much so that it is all gone! So, I made a double batch today, which we’re storing in 1-quart Ball mason jars that I bought over the weekend. (They were a bargain, at just $6.99 for a 12-pack.) I tweaked the recipe just a bit, adding a little cinnamon and some vanilla extract; the aroma of the baking granola suggests that both additions were a good idea.

I also made my first risotto with a recipe that J found at Epicurious. It involved a lot of stirring, but otherwise was relatively straightforward. We love butternut squash, but it wouldn’t have occurred to me to make a risotto with it, so kudos to J for suggesting this recipe. The results seemed pretty tasty; I can’t wait to have it for a meal tomorrow.

Since we were short on time today, we’ll be making the other recipes during the week. Both are new entrées that J found: steak enchiladas (from a friend’s copy of a Cooks Illustrated publication) and cauliflower and tofu masala.

Share your thoughts!

