Giving thanks for Wisconsin farmers and food culture

The folks from Willoway Farm at East Town farmers market, Cathedral Square park, Milwaukee. Photo and caption by Michael Newman via Flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Blogger and Milwaukee Journal Sentinel food columnist Anna Thomas Bates has a gratitude-filled post this week that seemed perfectly suited for the season. She writes,

I’m grateful that I live in a state that has an astonishing bounty of nutritious food that is sustainably produced.

When I talk to friends and family in other parts of the country, I realize just how lucky I am. I enjoy the congeniality of the Midwest, with the artisan food and environmentally sound farming of a hip coastal city.

The USDA Economic Research Service lists Wisconsin as second in the nation for total organic farms. This number doesn’t include the many family farms that produce food sustainably and without chemicals, without official organic certification.

But even more incredible than the availability is the accessibility. I don’t just purchase farm-fresh food — I meet farmers, talk with them and have the pleasure of dining with them.

Hear, hear! For the full column, including what looks like a super-tasty recipe for Butternut Squash, Kale and Barley Risotto, head here.

Before I close, one quick housekeeping note: The “weekday posts only” rule we’ve been following since reaching our 1-year blog-iversary also has a corollary, i.e., holidays will be post-free, just like weekends. For as long as I can remember, Thanksgiving has been a two-day affair at my house, so I’ll be back with a fresh post on Monday. Until then, I wish you and yours a very happy Thanksgiving!

2 comments

Share your thoughts!

