#MadBeerWeek: Timmermans, Malheur and more at Brasserie V

J had to work late last night, so I was on my own for Madison Craft Beer Week. I headed to Brasserie V early for the Belgian Special Beer Tasting with Paramount Merchants, found myself a seat at the far end of the bar, and hunkered down to get a little work done while I enjoyed my beer. I’d already gotten a taste of some of the Malheur line at last year’s Beer Week “Big Beer Tasting” at Brasserie V, so I was most intrigued by the two newcomers. I ended up not really loving the second beer, the Bourgogne Des Flanders, which Jordan of Paramount Merchants described as a cross between a Belgian brown and a lambic; I couldn’t quite place the flavor note that wasn’t tripping my trigger (rhubarb? cabbage?) until he told me the beer was aged in port barrels. (Yes! That’s the flavor—port!)

That said, I really enjoyed the Blanche Lambicus (AKA Lambicus Blanche) a lot. Using a classic technique that no one else employs anymore, this one is a mashup of a Belgian wit and a lambic. The lemony notes were delicious—this refreshing brew would be fantastic on a hot summer day. Thanks to a thoughtful bartender who remembered that I like tart and/or sour beers, I also was lucky enough to sample the Oud Beersel Framboise when that tap line got switched over from a mead; it was really lovely, light, and dry, with just the right amount of raspberry flavor. To accompany my beers, I had the Apple and Swiss sandwich for dinner [menu]; I hadn’t had it in a long time, and I’d forgotten just how delicious it is! Once again, this was another extremely enjoyable Madison Craft Beer Week event at Brasserie V. We’re looking forward to Wednesday!

P.S. Except the Malheur Brut, all of the sampled brews were on tap this year, so if any sound interesting to you, head to Brasserie V before they’re tapped out!

Photo by The Conscientious Omnivore (CC BY-NC-ND 3.0)

Photo by The Conscientious Omnivore (CC BY-NC-ND 3.0)

Share your thoughts!

